2012… A year for the classics..

So… 2012 commences and as always I start the year full of the very best intentions (work-wise, health-wise, attitude-wise.. and this year  literary-wise!) I have big plans for 2012 as a year for reading (or re-reading!) all my favourite classic authors (and discovering some new ones I haven’t yet tried..)  I also want to start reading some more contemporary authors (so if anyone has any good tips they will be much appreciated!)

I’m also signing up to some reading challenges for 2012 to focus my reading energies and give me some goals to work to!

Firstly, I will be participating in Darlene’s Book Nook Mammoth Book Challenge – I’m aiming for Level 4: Read 8 or more mammoth-sized books.

2012 Mammoth Book Challenge

I’m thinking a lot of the classics I intend to read will fall into this category so (hopefully!) I should make the 8 if not more: e.g. Bleak House – Charles Dickens, Middlemarch – George Eliot ( I’ve read this before & I LOVE it so it can’t possibly not be on my list!), War & Peace – Leo Tolstoy, The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas, – these are weighty tomes but have to be on my list.

Also, I will be doing the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die Challenge (hosted here http://caitieflum.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/1001-books-you-must-read-before-you-die-challenge-2012-edition/)  I’m aiming for gold medal status (21+ books). There are some amazing classics on the list so it should fit nicely with my resolution to read more next year!

I do intend to post as many reviews of my reads as possible, but my reading list as ever will be posted on here so I can keep track of my progress!!!

As as personal challenge, and in recognition of the Dickens Centenary this year – I’m going to attempt the feat of reading Dickens entire works (‘just’ his novels not short story collections, criticisms, travel writing.) (Optimistic perhaps but I will try my best to give it a go!)

Interested to hear what others sign up for…!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Darlene
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 03:07:37

    Welcome to the Mammoth Book Challenge, perioddramavictoriana! I am happy to have you join me and I’m looking forward to seeing your reviews. Have fun!!!!

    Reply

  2. Arukiyomi
    Mar 31, 2012 @ 09:49:13

    if you’re up for the 1001 books challenge, you might also be interested in the spreadsheet or iPhone app which help you track your progress with the list

    Head on over to my book blog for more.

    Reply

  3. Caitie F
    Jun 30, 2012 @ 18:13:09

    How are you doing with the 1001 Challenge? Read anything really good (or really bad) this year? Let us know at http://caitieflum.wordpress.com/2012/06/30/1001-books-you-must-read-before-you-die-2012-check-in/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

