New Great Expectations Adaptation.. and Dickensian ramblings..

So… I love Dickens. Yes, sometimes his novels are looong, winding chunky beasts with tons of characters and sub-plots, but he surely deserves recognition as one of the greatest writers in the English language. His novels are timeless classics and his depictions of various characters have become English institutions- what would Christmas be without Scrooge?

So, I am super excited about the new adaptation set to be shown on the BBC around Christmas of Great Expectations.. (Yes, I know this has been done lots of times- but I think we have room for some more Pip, Estella, Havisham and Magwitch in our lives…!) The casting looks perfect- Gillian Anderson (who did an amazing job as Lady Deadlock in the BBC version of Bleak House) is Miss Havisham, Ray Winstone is Magwitch (yes!), and David Suchet is Jaggers (yes, yes, yes!!) All lovers of Great Expectations will surely be thrilled about this new version (even if there are other neglected classics which the BBC should seriously think about adapting!)

The adaptation is part of the year-long celebrations for the bicentenary of Dickens’s birth in 2012. There are some amazing plans for 2012 across the country (and beyond!) with events, exhibitions, performances and festivals – looking at it all here http://www.dickens2012.org I hardly know where to start with what I would like to attend! I will have to start planning..!! Be interesting to hear what other people are up to!

After completing my read of all the Sherlock Holmes books (one still left to go which I am holding back to save for my holiday!) I think I will turn to a reading (or re-reading) of all my Dickens favourites and the ones I haven’t yet got around to. I still have Bleak House, Little Dorrit, David Copperfield and Our Mutual Friend on my to-read pile so having a Dickens reading project would be a great motivator to get stuck into some of these!! One of my favourite novels is A Tale of Two Cities so that will definitely have to be on the list, along with Great Expectations.. What are other peoples favourites?

Also to highlight this interesting article about an online journal project looking for volunteers to edit content for ‘Dickens Journals Online’  http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/booksblog/2011/aug/04/charles-dickens-journals-online-project – looks like a hugely beneficial project to spare some time for…!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lady Disdain
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 21:44:31

    Oooh, there are so many book adaptations to look forward to. Andrea Arnold’s Wuthering Heights, Joe Wright’s looking into Anna Karenina, and now Dickens! Especially exciting for me because I just started reading Great Expectations and am already liking it. Love Jaggers. The only other Dickens novel I’ve read is A Tale of Two Cities – Sydney Carlton, my absolute favorite in the novel, so drunk, so sarcastic, so noble – but I definitely love his writing style, he’s a story-teller in the most fundamental sense.

    Reply

    • perioddramavictoriana
      Aug 25, 2011 @ 09:47:25

      Yes, lots to look forward to!! Hope you enjoy Great Expectations – it is such a brilliant novel. A Tale is definitely my favourite just because of Sydney- I really hope someone looks at adapting this novel soon too..!

      Reply

  2. Alexandra Thérèse
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 18:26:29

    I’m personally really looking forward to the new Jane Eyre adaptation – the one with Mia Wasikowska, the girl who played Alice in Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland. It’s had some really good write ups from the critics so far.

    Reply

  3. Julia Simpson-Urrutia
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 03:11:41

    Sometimes there are too many adaptions. But I am not complaining. Egad, what else would I watch?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

