Jeremy Irons in “The Borgias”, New Renaissance Period Drama Series

In the grand tradition of ‘Rome’ and ‘The Tudors’, Showtime now brings us “The Borgias” – a new historical drama series based on the intrigues of the infamous Borgias dynasty set during the Italian Renaissance.

The show will be led by Jeremy Irons, who stars as Rodrigo, the patriarch of the Borgias family and newly appointed as Pope, and will focus on the machinations of him and his children in their quest for power and status. Charting their rise and fall in politics, the show is sure to be a scintillating account of Italian Renaissance life and with a cast including Derek Jacobi, Francois Arnaud and Colm Feore, it is bound to be a hit!  

I don’t have any extensive knowledge about the period this series is set in, but I am actually really excited about the shows release(!) and there is a great website that has loads of photos and information about the cast and what not here: http://borgiaswiki.sho.com/ 

Really can’t wait for the show to start..! Although in the mean time we have the gorgeous final series of The Tudors on our screens to keep us entertained and the various trailers that have been released…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aubrey
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 01:17:47

    I was rather looking forward to ‘The Borgias’ myself – first, because of the acting potential (Irons, Jacobi) and secondly, because this period of Italian history was never my strong suit and I would be less likely to set my hair on fire every time I came across an inaccuracy. (I’ve read alot on Tudor history, and I’m sure that if I watched ‘The Tudors’ I’d be completely bald!!

    Still and all…I don’t get Showtime, so the matter is moot. Pity; this series does look rather luscious.

    Reply

  2. garcinia cambogia for weight loss
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 11:40:58

    Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but
    I’m still new to everything. Do you have any recommendations for beginner blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

