The Many Faces of Mr Darcy

My recent post on the various actors who have graced our screens as Mr Rochester has inspired me to look at those who have taken on the role of Mr Darcy. Some fantastic actors have taken on the part, but who was the best? Darcy is perhaps one of the best loved fictional heros (or he is mine at any rate..!), and it takes something special to get the right mix of aloofness, haughtiness and aristocratic pride, whilst also showing his humour, warmth and vulnerability. It is that combination (mixed in with his dashing good looks and £10,000 a year!), which makes Darcy such a fantastic character.. and I think there have been quite a few actors who have got this just right…

Laurence Olivier was outstanding as Fitwilliam in the 1940 film version, starring alongside Greer Garson as Lizzy. I loved Olivier as Darcy despite the fact that admittedly the film is not completely true to Austen’s text. The costumes for example, aren’t exactly standard Georgian outfits(!) and the ending has a plot twist which I’m not sure Austen would have approved of (even though it’s actually quite entertaining). In spite of this though, I do think Oliver pulled off a good Darcy and his chemistry with Greer Garson was wonderful. He definitely set the standards high for the next generations of Darcy’s..

The BBC made a mini series of Pride and Prejudice in 1980, where David Rintoul played Darcy. I have only seen this series once, a couple of years ago and I wasn’t overly impressed generally. I think this is more to do with my constantly comparing it to the newer versions and the fact that it all seemed a little dated, rather than a reflection on the acting performances. Rintoul is actually quite a good Darcy; his performance is subtle and believable and I would definitely watch it again.

For me, the defining performance however (I know this may be cliched!) was Colin Firth’s in the 1995 BBC production. Andrew Davies is a wonderful writer and this adaptation stayed remarkably close to Austen’s text. Firth was the first Darcy I saw, and this probably is why I always compare other performances to his, but I do think he really captured everything that Darcy is. The lake scene, (whilst admittedly not being an Austen invention), was genius and the scenes with Lizzy at Pemberley are just fantastic- the chemistry between them is spot on, and the development of Darcy’s character (or Lizzy’s understanding of his character at any rate!) is played out wonderfully.

Almost ten years later then we have another performance by Martin Henderson as Darcy in the adapted version of the novel – Bride & Prejudice. This was a modern Bollywood remake of Austen’s text and is actually quite fun. Henderson’s Darcy is a bit too overly snobby for my tastes- I am not sure the character development is as good as in some of the other versions (probably largely down to the fact that it is under two hours long – I am spolit by these six hour BBC versions!)

A year later then we got Matthew Macfadyen as Darcy alongside Keira Knightley. Basing my judgement purely on the casting and performance of Darcy, I have to say, some great choices were made. Matthew has the right combination of haughty indifference with endearing shyness and vulnerability and the proposal scene is just gorgeously performed. It took me a while to come to the conclusion that I liked this version, but now I have seen it a few times, I have been converted.

Lastly then, was Eliot Cowan in the ITV mini-series Lost in Austen: another good performance, although perhaps again, the overbearing rude side to the character was a little overplayed. But then again, I suppose none of the other Darcy’s had to deal with their heroine telling them that she had had lots of boyfriends, and had even (horror of all horrors!) lived with another man…

There have been some other Darcy’s too, but I haven’t had the pleasure of viewing these adaptations as yet- I think most of them are pretty hard to get hold of. Any recommendations are as ever, are gratefully received!  I do believe there is definitely room for more Darcy portrayals in the world however.. It’s been FIFTEEN years since the last BBC version, so surely a remake is in order?! It’s hard actually to think of a perfect casting for a new Darcy – Richard Armitage springs to mind (but that’s largely down to my own obsession with him I think!)- anyone else have any suggestions?!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. danikadora@yahoo.com
    Sep 09, 2011 @ 10:50:40

    colin firth it’s the best!!!he is wonderfull in this movie!

    Reply

  2. tannerwms
    Dec 11, 2011 @ 20:56:38

    Michael Fassbender. And then he could play Heathcliff. Hey, SOMEONE has to do the brooding-romantic-hero triple crown… (Fun fact: Olivier did play Heathcliff the year before he was Darcy.)

    Reply

  3. Tea in a Teacup
    Jul 06, 2012 @ 10:28:42

    There is something about Colin Firth, isn’t there! I can’t imagine any other actor coming close! (Though, sometimes it also has to do with the rest of the cast, the costumes and the storyline changes…)

    Reply

  4. Sue Stubba
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 10:38:26

    Laurence Oliver was a wonderful – and my first – Mr Darcy .. yes the costumes were not right .. but he was wonderful…

    Next one should be Richard Armitage.. Brillians.

    Reply

  5. Sue Stubbs
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 10:41:42

    Sorry its Sue Stubbs not Stubba!!

    Richard Armitage as Mr Darcy — just image it .. may make quite a good Heathclife aswell!!

    Reply

  6. Shell Flower
    Jul 20, 2012 @ 23:51:52

    Matthew Mcfadyen all the way. No question. Storyline changes or not, he IS Mr. Darcy. His acting is the best and I think Keira Knightley is a really great Elizabeth, too. The rain scene makes it better, sorry Jane Austen. Great post.

    Reply

  7. Jodes
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 17:47:07

    I think Richard Armitage would be a pretty good Darcy. He is a great actor and could totally pull off the awkward, snobby but sweet man Darcy is.

    Reply

  8. Moira Bianchi
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 15:27:18

    Mr D is always hot! Here in Rio we are already celebrating his 200th… eagerly!

    Reply

  9. Medcoop
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 22:25:49

    The person to play Darcy next could be Gregory Fitoussi (currently playing Henri in Mr Selfridge). That is providing he can do an English accent, of course

    Reply

  10. vanessalovespostcards
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 14:53:02

    aww just watching colin firth getting wet! I have seen 3 other adaptions before, but bbc is quite the best one as I think! 😀 😀

    Reply

  11. fr
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 20:02:21

    Colin Firth is the best

    Reply

Leave a Reply

