Andrew Davies’ New Adaptation ‘South Riding’

Mr Davies is back, bringing to our screens an adaptation of Winifred Holtby’s novel ‘South Riding’. Set in 1930’s Yorkshire, the three part series focuses on the politics and romances of a fictional northern town. I for one am hugely excited about this drama (I love Sunday night period drama viewing!!) and the cast is fantastic. Anna Maxwell Martin plays the lead Sarah Burton, a spinster headmistress alongside David Morrissey as Robert Carne, a stern (but surely terribly charismatic?) farmer- two wonderful actors who have both wowed in past period pieces (Anna in Bleak House, David in Sense & Sensibility)- surely a match made in acting heaven?!

I haven’t yet read the novel the series is based on but I did see the recent guardian review: http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2011/jan/30/south-riding-winifred-holtby-review . It sounds like something I would really enjoy, maybe it is the “inevitable comparisons to Jane Eyre” which lured me in..! Don’t think I will have chance to grab and consume the novel before the series begins so may have to read post-watching. Either way, I am sure I am in for a treat..!!

As a slight aside, I am also looking forward to Davies’ other period project, a new screen adaptation of The Three Musketeers due to be released this year. It stars Matthew Macfadyen as Athos- need I say more..!?

Leave a Reply

